Punk Rock Gift Exchange

1. How long have you been knitting/crocheting/spinning?
Since the beginning of time…just kidding. I have been crocheting since I was in high school (the mid-80s) and have only been knitting for about 2 years. I have yet to learn how to spin but that is my next goal.

2. Do you consider yourself a beginner, novice or experienced yarn artist?
I would have to say an experienced crocheter, an adventurous beginner in knitting, and an absolute novice at spinning.

3. What fibers (materials) have you knit/crochet with?

I have knit/crochet with a variety of material from acrylic to soy/wool blends and novelty yarns. I am not a yarn snob and can find use with most yarns – including Red Heart.

4. What are your favorite yarns?
Currently my favorites include Lisa Souza, STR, Scout’s Swag, Koigu, – any wool blends. Bernat Satin is also very soft for 100% acrylic.

5. What fibers are you dying to try?
Alpaca, silk, hemp, the blend in Tofutsies, and Vickie Howell Collection’s Craft from SWTC (35% Milk Fiber and 65% Organic Cotton). Really any natural fiber would be great.

6. Do you prefer solid, self striping, or handpainted yarns?
I like them all.

7. What fibers do you dislike?
Anything that is really scratchy. I don’t think I am allergic to any.

8. What are your favorite colors?
Currenlty shades of blue, purple, red, green, and camaflouge

9. What are your least favorite colors?
bright neon colors – they make my eyes hurt

10. How did you learn to knit/crochet/spin?

I learned how to crochet when I was in high school from my mother. I taught myself how to knit thru books and the internet and I have yet to learn how to spin.

11. What projects are you currently working on?

the never-ending Clapotis, socks, mittens, a cardigan for lil Nicholas

12. How old is your oldest UFO? What is it? Will it ever be finished?

That would be the never-ending Clapotis that I hope to finish one day.

13. What is the most heartbreaking project that you ever frogged?
I actually hav only frogged my Jaywalkers – the first one I started was too snug for my foot

14. Do you prefer straight or circular needles?
both – One of the presents this past Christmas was the Knit Picks Options Needle Set

15. Do you own a swift and/or a winder?
Yes, I have both.
16. Where do you keep your needles?
The circulars are kept in the Knit Picks binder and the DPNs have a case of their own as well. The only needles that are caseless are the few straight ones that I have.

17. Do you enjoy helpful hints about your knitting or does it just piss you off?

No I don’t mind helpful hints – I don’t have to use all of them.

18. What techniques are you still a virgin in (lace, cables, ect.) and are you interested in trying them?
That would be lace, fair isle, intarsia – but would love to try them.

19. What knitting magazines do you subscribe to?
Interweave Knits and Creative Knitting

20. Are there any books, needles, yarn, patterns that you are dying to get your hands on?
I would love to make a pair of the Felted Clogs and the Huggable Hedgehog from Fiber Trends. As far as yarn – Lavender Sheep, Kindred Spirits Yarn, Mystical Creation Yarns, Crash Into Ewe. I was drooling looking at all the sock yarn. I am pretty set with needles I think. And as far as books, the wish list covers that. But if I had to pick the top three of the list, then it would be Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles, Charmed Knits, and Domiknitrix: Whip Your Knitting into Shape.

21. Do you enjoy knitting socks? How big are your feet?
Yes, very much!!! I have size 9 feet

22. Do you have a wish list?
My Amazon.com Wish List

23. What are your non-knitting, crochet, spinning hobbies?

Currently they would include sewing, doing beadwork (making stitch markers and jewlry), reading, and following Nascar.

24. How do you feel about sports?
I am a HUGE Nascar fan with my favorite driver being Jeff Burton (driver of the #31 Cingular car). Plus I have always cheered for the San Diego Chargers. I still remember when the stadium was called “Jack Murphy Stadium”.

25. What is your favorite season? Least favorite season? Why?
That would have to be spring time as that is when the daffodils bloom. Here in Oregon my least favorite would be the rainy season – which is about half the year.

26. What is your favorite holiday?
Halloween with Christmas as the second favorite

27. Do you like handmade gifts?
Yes, very much.

28. Do you wear jewelry that isn’t real?
Right now, I don’t wear a whole lot of jewelry. Currently I am wearing the wedding ring/engagement ring set and a pair of earrings. I do have some necklaces that I plan on wearing when Nicholas gets past the age of pulling on them or when the hubby and I get a chance to go to dinner without the boys. But yes, I think I would wear jewlery that isn’t real.

29. What are your favorite foods? Scents that you love?
Favorite foods include seafood and mexican. I absolutely love lavender.

30. What is your family situation? Do you live alone?
Currently live with the hubby (retired Navy Chief) and two little boys (Nathan who is 4 years old and Nicholas who is 1)

31. Do you have any pets?
Not currently – although we might get the boys a small dog when Nicholas is a little older

32. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3’s?
I like most music. Something with a beat. I listen to everything from classical to rock. The only music I really don’t care for is rap and disco. Yes, my computer/stereo can play MP3s.

33. What are your favorite movies? TV shows? Actors?
Favorite movies include: Tomb Raider, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Titanic, Gone With the Wind, the Mummy series, Memoirs of a Geisha, Fried Green Tomatoes, Mr. and Mrs. Smith

Favorite TV shows include: Charmed, Gilmore Girls, Grey’s Anatomy, Dukes of Hazzard, Desperate Housewives

Favorite Actors/Actesses: Matthew Perry, Angelina Jolie, George Cloony, Pierce Bronson, Selma Hayek, Antonio Banderas, and Brad Pitt

34. What do you collect?
Does sock yarn count as collectible? Other than that – fairies, teddy bears, wizard items, any ancient egypt theme item. Oh, and anything with a triquetra on it.

35. What do you do in real life — besides knit and blog?
I try to maintain my sanity around two small boys. Other than that, I have been dabbling in beadwork and working on my sewing skills.

36. When is your birthday? Is it a national holiday or just another day?
March 14th – as far as I know its not a national holiday although it should be. But then that’s just my own personal biased opinion.

Just found this out:

March 14
Albert Einstein’s Birthday – March 14, 1879
National Potato Chips Day

37. Do you have any allergies, medical conditions or disorders that your pal should be aware of (ie. diabetes, food/pet allergies, ect.)?
I have no allergies myself but the hubby is allergic to cats.

38. Are there any scents, phobias, or sensory thing (ie, the way certain objects feel) that your pal should be aware of?
The smell of fresh leather makes me ill – as well as cigarette smoke.

39. What is the most difficult thing that you have ever knit/crochet?
That would be a cute lil pair of overalls for lil Nicholas. I was crocheting it with Caron Simply Soft and just couldn’t get my gauge right. So it is still not complete. I see them going in the frog pond shortly.

40. What is your personal style? Is there a time period/fashion movement that you take your cues from?
Right now I seem to fascinated with the French style during Marie Antoinette’s time. I also like Russian, Ancient Egypt, Victorian, and Edwardian times.

41. Anything else that you would like to say?

The Power of Three will set us free…
One response to this post.

  1. I am so glad that you are doing this exchange! Would you like to submit your button to the exchange – its so cute!!I like all your style influcences – very eclectic, but they do seem to go well together!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

