Socktober Fest


When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class? I started my first pair of socks around the beginning of last year. I finished that first pair this year. It got set aside and forgotten about. I made that pair with a tutorial from AlexSandy Thompson of the KnittingMadeEasy4U Yahoo Group. We will be doing a 2 circular tutorial shortly.

What was your first pair? My first pair was a pair of anklet socks made with Lion Brand Woolease with size 3 DPNs. How have they “held up” over time? They have held up pretty good. They are nice and soft and still fit great.

What would you have done differently? Practiced the kitchener stitch before I made the first one. I ended up with a lil hole in one of them.

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed? Right now I have some handpainted sock yarn that I look forward to using. So far I have Knit Picks yarn, a hank of Appletini from Scout, and some Lisa Souza yarn on order in the LimeNViolet colorway. I would love some of the Emerald City colorway. Plus I scored some Socks that Rock while at the Oregon Flock & Fiber Festival this year.

Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method? Crochet socks?!? Is there such a creature? So far I have used DPNs only but would love to learn how to use 2 circulars.

Which kind of heel do you prefer? (flap? or short-row?) So far heel flap.

How many pairs have you made? Currently, I am on my third pair – a pair of Maple Leaf socks made with Knit Picks Memories in Morning Glory. I am on the foot part of the first sock. My second pair was anklet socks with Moda Dea Sassy Stripes for the hubby.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Looks like I’m headed in your direction next summer. I’m loving reading your blog!

    Reply

  2. Christy, Awww thanks. That’s sooo sweet of you to say. I absolutely love this area.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

